Town Ballroom- Against Me! With Annie Girl and the Flight + Frnkiero and the Cellabration

THE VENUE: THE TOWN BALLROOM, DOWNTOWN BUFFALO.
Gorgeous, it has old carved roof beams and beautiful neon lights for the stage before the show started up. It also has a screen on either side of the stage that shows the bands playing.

There’s a pit in front of the stage and 2 levels where you can stand and watch which is super convenient if you can’t get up front and actually wanna see the band

THE ACTS:

1) ANNIE GIRL AND THE FLIGHT.
What great music!!!!!!!!!! I’d never heard of them before but man, they were kind of effortlessly cool without being pretentious.

Their sound was fan, heavy, hard, chill, experimental, and just all-around good. I felt like I was in Only Lovers LIMG_2992eft  Alive or some other Jim Jarmusch movie throughout their performance because it had that great cool-vibe to it.

The lights bounced off the bass player’s pegs  and looked pretty.

I was mesmerized by their sound and their thousand pedals making the guitars sound otherwordly.

2) FRNKIERO AND THE CELLABRATION
OKAY BUT WOW-IMG_3174
This is one of my favourite musicians and he just performed with everything he had. This man puts all his energy and emotion into the performance.
Oh jesus, he is gorgeous.
The people there for him were so excited. I had a bunch of girls behind me screaming like it was Beatlemania.
FrankieMania?
I even heard one person scream “my child” at him.

This man just came on and performed with all he had  for the whole set. The most of a  break he took was when he talked about how Love is the most important word and how he believes in energies and how they’re powerful. He was also saying something that I think might have been about a ghost in the venue but I’m not sure.

IMG_3219
He was great in his performance and I think everything that could be given was given to that guitar, the microphone and the crowd.
IMG_3242Singing along to my favourite songs while the artist stand in front of me is almost unbelievable and I’m still a little in shock that it actually happened and that he was actually the amazing performer I imagined him to be (and also very cute!).
Thanks for a great show, FrnkIero & the Cellabration.

3)AGAINST ME!
BEER, MOSH, FUN.
That’s what this was.
Okay, I had heard of Against Me! But I had never actually listened to them and I kept forgetting to so then it was a brand new band for me to hear!

They music is just super fun. Like, fast, loud, punk-y rock with anthem vibes and lots of lyrics to scream out.

IMG_3462
There was a mosh pit of people in the thirties wearing plaid. It was way more fun than it looked.
I mean, it was so fun that I had beer spilled on me more than once and I didn’t even mind because I was having such a great time!
What a fun set to pogo to!

The night was filled with energy, if this tour comes to your town, I wouldn’t hesitate to go!


Leave a Reply

