DIVERSITY AND WHAT ARE WE DOING? Part 1.

Okay, so, my god. There are things that have been pressing down heavily on my mind and some of them are regarding the reaction to the Oscar nominations this year.

TREADING CAREFULLY ON ICE THAT IS ACTUALLY MELTING AS I ATTEMPT TO CROSS THIS RIVER OF THE STRANGE SITUATION THAT IS REPRESENTATION IN POPULAR FILMS AND TELEVISION.

(I think one of my problems is that I don’t understand why representation is so difficult. Like, just reflect the diversity that exists. Cast people to represent that because I’m sure there are talented people of every “colour” or “race” or group in this earth)

ANYWAY.

It is really weird to me that the academy has not caught on to how much concern has risen over diversity and the lack of it in recent years. The academy has access to the internet and news outlets, no? It almost seems like they’re doing this on purpose to piss people off.

I don’t even know what I want to talk about first.

Okay, let’s begin with this: “Races” and “colours”.

Another main problem I have with this discussion is that the terms “black” and “white” are still used. It frustrates me to no end that these are still okay words to use.

THE HUMAN SPECIES IS A CONTINUUM, THERE IS NO FIXED POINT WHERE SOMEONE, BECAUSE OF THEIR SKIN COLOUR, PLACE OF BIRTH, ANCESTRY, ETC BEGINS TO BE ONE THING AND STOPS BEING ANOTHER.

I just don’t see how categories are helpful but then again I understand why people would use them. I guess. THIS IS SO DIFFICULT TO TALK ABOUT. I don’t have a solution to offer but I think it is super important to recognize that while people may still categorize others based on certain terms, these are not actual categories within the human species.

Honestly, I think a good idea would be to use quotations. For example: “colour you are using to describe someone”. This way you acknowledge that these are labels that exists and very much affect people but that in reality are not an actual subcategory.

I just think it’s important to repeat that there is no “certain” group of people because humans are a single species and this may seem like a simple concept but people still perpetuate myths some “groups” are more evolved than others. And because myths like this exist I see why terms like “black” and “white” are used because, like I mentioned, they have an effect on how someone is perceived, how they are treated.

I feel like I am stating the obvious again and again.

JUST STOP USING TERMS OF COLOUR LIKE THEY ARE ACTUAL SIGNIFIERS OF DISTINCT CATEGORIES IN HUMANS.

“Race” is so complicated. At what point does someone stop being “brown” and enter the category of “black”? These are also culturally based categories so  things get even messier. Someone may have he same skin colour as another but not identify as the same group because of cultural affiliations, because of where they are born, because of what the ideal for that certain “colour” has been set to be.

My final beef (for now) with these categories is that there is a slight suggestion that everyone within them should somehow identify with each other in a way which also leads to the train of thought that people are somehow the “same” as others int he group and “different” from other human beings. And I will say this again: there are no categories.

Just, jesus, I see words beings thrown around like they’re nothing and sometimes I fear that they’re just continuing a cycle of stereotypes and beliefs categories based on skin “colour” exist.

-Sara.

Leave a Reply

